NICU…

…This afternoon, I was blessed with the opportunity to accompany the hospital’s biomedical engineer and a pediatrician to the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU). There were 13 babies here, most of whom were born prematurely. I had seen photos and videos of premature babies before but had never viewed one in person. While the engineer and pediatrician were completely habituated to the sights of the NICU, I could not stop staring at these precious and minuscule marvels of life.

Although the child pictured here weighed less than 1.5 kg (3.3 lbs) and looked incredibly underdeveloped, he is actually one of the healthiest babies overall in the room.

Just to enter and see a NICU anywhere is an incredibly special, touching, and rare experience. To see a NICU in a public Indian hospital puts a whole new spin on life. In one respect, these children are so helpless and unfortunate. Yet, on the other, it is a miracle that most of them are alive at all and made it to a district level hospital with proper facilities to care for them. I will be going back next week to spend an entire day in the NICU with the pediatrician.

One thought on “NICU…

  1. oh John. I am crying. When Lance was born I was 31 weeks and 5 days and he weighed 3 lb 13 ounces. I was just telling Stuart the other day…..”I really cant remember the NICU.” Lance was there 23 days. I guess these pics brought something out—that I had blocked. Love reading you entries. Stay strong!

    Susan

Leave a Reply

