Monkey Temple…

…Just a few kilometers east of the central walled city of Jaipur is the Galta Gorge. Although not as well publicized or known to tourists, it was one of the most interesting sights I have experienced in India. We had been told that we should visit the Monkey Temple by my host-father and showed up not knowing what to expect, except a lot of monkeys. However, we knew we were in the right place as soon as we got out of the car. The narrow valley is home to over 5,000 monkeys, hundreds of goats, and dozens of cattle. I found that clapping loudly and making scary noises kept the troublesome monkeys from attacking.


–A monkey looking out over Jaipur (you can see a couple of kites flying in the distance)–

We walked to the temple on top of the peak overlooking all of Jaipur. The views were amazing but we were all a bit underwhelmed. I had a hunch we were in the wrong place. I had noticed pictures of sacred tanks in my guidebook, so we enlisted the help of some eager locals to show us the way to them. After a kilometer of switchbacks through steep terrain, we found the spectacular set of temples and sacred baths that we were looking for.

I felt like I was living in a National Geographic Magazine. Here I was watching the pilgrims wash away their sins in curative holy water while monkeys ate bananas and picked flies off of one another in front of an 18th century mountain temple where worshipers prayed to an elephant deity named Ganesha.

4 thoughts on “Monkey Temple…

  1. Regarding the last photo of the mom and her child……I just saw a program on the Travel Channel regarding Nepal and Bhutan. There the color red stood for warmth, the color blue for water and earth, and the color yellow for the time in which we live. Then you captured the colors so vividly in India!

  2. Your photographs are beautiful. If you decide not to be a doctor, you could be a photographer for National Geographic Magazine.

  3. Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    • Hi there! This is a WordPress site…and I highly recommend it. This is, I believe, the Twenty-Eleven theme or something of that nature. They have good paid themes too. Thanks for the compliments. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

